top of page

Full Blown: Me and My Bipolar Family

David Lovelace

Full Blown: Me and My Bipolar Family

PUBLISHER'S REVIEW:

David Lovelace, along with his brother and both his parents, is bipolar. This is his extraordinary and vivid memoir of life within his memorable, maddening, loving and unique family.

Full Blown is Lovelace's poignant, humorous, and vivid account of growing up and coming to terms with the highs and lows of manic depression.

David's father was a Princeton-trained theology professor deemed too eccentric for the ministry and his mother battled depression all her life. Manic episodes were part of family life - they called them the 'whim-whams'. David was a teenager when his first serious depression hit, and at college when he first became manic. He ran to escape it – to Mexico, South America and then New York, to drugs and alcohol – before he realised the futility of running.

A father himself, a son and a brother, David's matter-of-fact approach to growing up surrounded by the unique creativity often sparked by manic depression is compelling. In the vein of Stuart, A Life Backwards and Augusten Burroughs’ Running with Scissors , David’s poetic ability to detail the unique highs and harrowing lows makes a remarkable and gripping read.

Look for it on:

For any book purchase you might make via the Amazon link above, Bipolar Edinburgh receives a small commission to help continue our charitable purpose of helping those living with Bipolar in Edinburgh & the Lothians. You are not charged any extra for this by Amazon. Thank you for supporting us!

ISBN:

978-0525950783

Copies in our library:

Bipolar Edinburgh maintains a small library of books, CDs and DVDs. To borrow from the library you need to have attended at least two group meetings and registered your contact information with the group facilitators. We normally allow people to borrow items for two months, but please bring them back earlier if possible.

978-0525950783 copy1

Full Blown: Me and My Bipolar Family
bottom of page